Sixteenth Day of Yule for our Family

I was off to a s-l-o-w start today.  I have needed to do my rejuvenation in the middle of the night.  1/2 hour of yoga, and 1/2 of meditation.  That put me at a 1:30 AM bedtime.  So at 9 AM, the hubby called, and the kids roused me out of bed.  I realized I am also battling early onset of a cold, and everything feels achy!  But enough whining about me!

Inspirational message of the day:  Courage does not always roar.  Sometimes it is that very small voice saying at the end of the day, “tomorrow we will try again.”  My kids know all about trying again the next day.  Two of them are taking instrument classes.  One on the flute, and one on the piano.  They expect to know how to play immediately, and when one, the flute player, forgets how to breath properly to play the note, she knows she has to try it again tomorrow.  Every time we read the inspirational message, we hang it on the Christmas Tree.  Here is what it looks like now:

wpid-20131216_110558.jpg

If you can see the white tags, each one has a number, and that is the day of the week we read the message, printed and glued to the back of the tag.

Candle Blessing: Our candle blessing is for LOVE, for world peace, the environment, for the poor, the sacred mysteries, all our friends, our paths in life, our chance to grow and learn, the sacred cycles, our loved ones, our health, our creations, our home, where we live, what we have, and who we are.  My middle child stated this so emphatically that I couldn’t refuse.

On a side note, my children have been fascinated with Carol of the Bells.  I love that song, and in the one choir I was in, I sang that song.  (I sound like a squawking seagull most of the time, but I pulled that one off beautifully!)  So I wonder if the Carol of the Bells will be important to our family in the near future.  Usually something like this happens, and it really does have some kind of impact on our lives.  Here is a lovely version by

The story:  A Yule Poem, the Childs’ Wonder  My kids really connected to this story.

We finally finished the gingerbread houses!  While the houses don’t seem complicated, they are when it is a child with limited sewing experience behind the needle. Here they are:

wpid-20131216_113526.jpg

And here is a picture of my Advent candle wreath over halfway lit up:

wpid-20131216_103406.jpg

Merry Yuletide everyone!

