Our First Day of Imbolc, 2014

There is nothing like a good snowstorm to show us that WINTER is not over, and we have yet to see the halfway point.  Imbolc is halfway between the start of winter, which began in Yule, and will not end until Ostara.  As it gets closer to Imbolc, the preparations I need to do are wrapping up.  All of the supplies I need are bought, or are easily acquired on the day we need it.  I start off gently with the kids.  I am introducing them to the stories and the legends behind the middle point of winter.  I have begun with this page for the oldest and will be using two books for the younger two: The Earth Child’s Handbook – Book 2: Crafts and inspiration for the spiritual child. and Let’s Talk About Pagan Festivals.  I found both to be delightfully easy to introduce to the kids.  As for our wonderful activities, we are doing a small motion play from A Child’s Seasonal Treasury by Betty Jones called Groundhog Day.

Then to round out our day of worship, we will also do this planting craft.  I have also began knitting this cute darling.  I want to make at least one for each child.

Leave a Reply

